The Massachusetts State Senate has voted to raise the state’s minimum wage to $11 per hour by 2017. The bill is expected to be approved by the House of Representatives next week, and the governor has already indicated he would sign it if it reaches his desk. The bill also includes a provision that freezes unemployment insurance rates in place for three years, and does not tie the new wage to inflation.
On Monday, June 3rd, the Seattle City Council raised the local minimum wage to $15 per hour, which is more than double the federal minimum wage. Schedule 1 Employers, those with over 500 employees, must offer a minimum wage of $11.00 an hour effective April 1, 2015; $13.00 an hour Jan. 1, 2016 and $15.00 an hour Jan. 1, 2017. However if Schedule 1 employers contribute towards an employee’s health benefits, then the increases are as follows:
- 2016 -- $12.50 an hour
- 2017 -- $13.50 an hour
- 2018 -- $15.00 an hour
Schedule 2 employers, those with fewer than 500 employees, must offer a minimum wage of $10.00 per hour effective April 1, 2015. Effective Jan. 1, 2016, and each year thereafter, the hourly minimum wage is as follows:
- 2016 - $10.50
- 2017 - $11.00
- 2018 - $11.50
- 2019 - $12.00
- 2020 - $13.50
- 2021 - $15.00
- 2022 - $15.75
- 2023 - $16.50
- 2024 - $17.25
On April 30th, the law that eliminates the manufacturing and equipment sales tax on Florida’s manufacturing companies took effect. According to Enterprise Florida the elimination of the tax is expected to save the more than 18,000 manufacturing companies in the state approximately $141 million annually.
The legislation fully eliminates an outdated five percent “productive output” requirement for businesses to receive a sales tax exemption on equipment. Until January 1, 2013, manufacturers were required to show proof of meeting a 10 percent productive output requirement. Governor Scott reduced this 10 percent requirement to 5 percent in the 2012 legislative session.
Under the new exemption, no sales and use tax will be charged for purchases of industrial machinery and equipment used in Florida by businesses that “make, process or produce for sale items of tangible personal property.”
The exemption also includes parts and accessories for industrial machinery and equipment if they are purchased prior to the machinery being placed into service.
New Ontario Joint Health and Safety Committee (JHSC) Certification Training Program and the Provider Standards are anticipated to come into effective in early 2015. For employers in Ontario who have a requirement to establish such committees the new standards will be designed to provide higher quality and consistent training of certified members.
The new standards, developed by the Certification Review Committee and the Workplace Safety and Insurance Board will be provided in two parts. Part one will address training in a generic scope covering all workplaces where certified JHSC members are required and would have to be taken from an approved training provider. The second part will address training with a sector-specific scope and will be formalized with approved training programs taken from approved training providers. Until the new standards take effect, the current version of the certification standard is valid.
As of May 9, 2014, the following state legislatures have adopted and the Governor has signed legislation to increase the state minimum wage. For more information, please contact SGIA's Government & Business Information Department at firstname.lastname@example.org.
California’s minimum wage will increase to $10.00 per hour on Jan. 1, 2016.
Connecticut’s new legislation establishes a new wage minimum of $8.70 per hour, and effective Jan. 1. 2015, the wage increases to $9.15; on Jan. 1, 2016 the wage increases to $9.60; and on Jan. 1, 2017 to $10.10.
Delaware’s new law will raise the minimum wage in Delaware to $8.25 per hour in two increments. The state’s hourly minimum wage will go up 50 cents to $7.75 on June 1, 2014. On June 1, 2015, it will go up another 50 cents to $8.25 per hour, making it $1 higher than the current federal minimum wage.
District of Columbia’s wage increases become effective July 1, 2014 with an increase to $9.50 per hour. On July 1 2015, the wage increases to $10.50 and on July 1, 2016 to $11.00.
Hawaii's minimum wage increases from $7.25 per hour to $7.75 on Jan. 1, 2015; to $8.50 on Jan. 1, 2016; to $9.25 on Jan. 1, 2017; and effective Jan. 1, 2018 to $10.10.
Maryland's legislation raises minimum wage to $8.00 an hour on Jan. 1, 2015; to $8.25 per hour on July 1, 2015; to $8.75 per hour on July 1, 2016; to $9.25 per hour on July 1, 2017 and to $10.10 per hour on July 1, 2018.
Michigan’s minimum wage increases to $8.15 eff. 9-1-14; to $8.50 eff. 1-1-16; to $8.90 eff. 1-1-17; and to $9.25 eff. 1-1-18.
Minnesota’s new legislation does not bind all employers to the same minimum pay rate. AlLarge employer is defined as any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is not less than $625,000. A small employer is defined as any enterprise whose annual gross volume of sales made or business done is less than $625,000.
For large employers, the following wage increase schedule applies:
$8.00/hour on Aug. 1, 2014
$9.00/hour on Aug. 1, 2015
$9.50/hour on Aug. 1, 2016
For small employers, the following wage increase schedule applies:
$6.50/hour on Aug. 1, 2014
$7.25/hour on Aug. 1, 2015
$7.75/hour on Aug. 1, 2016
New York state’s minimum wage increased to $8.75 in December 2014. The wage increases to $9.00 an hour on December 31, 2015.
West Virginia’s new wage increases become effective Jan. 1, 2015 with an increase to $8.00 per hour, with a second increase Jan. 1, 2016 to $8.75 per hour.